Which Came First? – Signed copy – 12 Reviews

Rated 5.00 out of 5 based on 12 customer ratings
(12 customer reviews)

$21.95

SKU: WCF1 Category:

Description

 

Which Came First? 

“Which Came First?” is a humorous farm story about overcoming fear, not giving up, and being resourceful.  It’s also a story about the love between a ten year old girl and her grandmother, chickens, and a rooster named “Pretty Boy.”

Hardcover Edition – 11″ x 9″, 1.2 pounds, 40 pages, with fun, hand-painted illustrations by Grapevine, Texas artist, Vicki Guess.  Includes “Fun Facts About Chickens” and “Funny Chicken Sayings” after the story.

You will receive your signed book and a bookmark via U.S. Media Mail within five to seven business days.  ***Free shipping***

 

12 reviews for Which Came First? – Signed copy – 12 Reviews

  1. Rated 5 out of 5

    First Grader

    “That is the best story I ever heard!”

    ~First grade boy at Grapevine Faith Christian School (after a library reading for the children)

  2. Rated 5 out of 5

    Ann Morrow

    “My family and I love reading this book. The pictures are so good and my two year old loves all the chickens!
    It’s a very well written book. I highly recommend this book!”
    -Ann Morrow, McKinney, Texas

  3. Rated 5 out of 5

    Jon Barrett

    “Life has moments where lessons are taught, fears are faced, and character is built. ‘Which Came First?’, written by Janet Sever Hull, captures these moments perfectly. With her amazing talent for storytelling, and the wonderful illustrations by Vicki Killion Guess, Janet describes the life lesson of facing one’s fears.
    Through the wisdom of her grandmother (Who was my grandmother too!) the girl in the story learns to overcome her fear of chickens. One major aspect of Janet’s writing, is her ability to simplify complex life lessons into understandable and relatable stories. In a world that is fast-paced and getting faster by the minute,
    it is refreshing and encouraging to read well written stories that teach important life lessons. I highly recommend purchasing ‘Which Came First?’ and reading it to your children or grandchildren!

    ~Jon Barrett, Valparaiso, Indiana

  4. Rated 5 out of 5

    Galyn Barnum

    “A delightful, heartwarming story told through the eyes of an adorable 9 year old bandit in a red bandana. Facing your fears has never been so suspenseful, artfully illustrated, and amusing! This is a wonderful, timeless story for the child in all of us. ‘Which Came First?’ will give you something to crow about!”

    ~Galyn Barnum, Portage, Michigan

  5. Rated 5 out of 5

    Amazon Customer

    Amazon Customer
    5.0 out of 5 stars
    A classroom treasure!
    December 4, 2016
    Format: Hardcover
    Looking for the perfect teacher gift? This book will be cherished by teachers and students.

  6. Rated 5 out of 5

    Amazon Customer

    Amazon Customer
    5.0 out of 5 stars
    What a wonderful book for the entire family to enjoy
    December 4, 2016
    Format: Hardcover
    What a wonderful book for the entire family to enjoy! A beautify written and illustrated story that will keep you in suspense and warm your heart.
    Love the art work! Looking forward to the next book by Janet Sever Hull! A marvelously talented writer!

  7. Rated 5 out of 5

    Donna

    Donna
    5.0 out of 5 stars
    Love this book
    December 4, 2016
    Format: Hardcover
    Love this book! It’s so clever–a heart-warming story that brought back memories of gathering eggs for my own grandma. I purchased it for my pastor who raises chickens.

  8. Rated 5 out of 5

    Susi Pyeatt

    Susi Pyeatt
    5.0 out of 5 stars
    I purchased this book for my granddaughter and we love it! We enjoyed both of her books.
    December 4, 2016
    Format: Hardcover
    I purchased this book for my granddaughter and we love it! We enjoyed both of her books. I think this is her favorite, because we have fun looking for the mouse hidden in the outdoor illustrations. Both books bring back memories of my childhood, while making new memories reading to my granddaughter.

  9. Rated 5 out of 5

    Amazon Customer

    Amazon Customer
    5.0 out of 5 stars
    LOVE, LOVE, LOVE IT!
    December 9, 2016
    Format: Hardcover
    I just received this wonderful book. I read it and reread it. I cannot wait to read it to my preschool classes as well, the children will love it! The illustrations are so cool, again my students will LOVE, LOVE, LOVE it!!! I now have both of her books!!! Pease write another one, Janet!!! I totally recommend this book and The Button Box.

  10. Rated 5 out of 5

    Tori

    Tori
    5.0 out of 5 stars
    Vicki in this fun book – Which Came First
    December 6, 2016
    Format: Hardcover
    Another win for the Author, Janet and Illustrator, Vicki in this fun book – Which Came First? Many times as children we have fears that we think adults don’t understand. Her Grandmother was firm yet loving which helped the 9 year-old girl courageously face her fears and overcome them. With suspense and fun, Janet captured the essence (sites, smells and wonders) of farm living and the memories made that Summer. Thank you- my nephew will really enjoy this book and I can already hear him saying “Don’t be a chicken liver” over and over again. 🙂

  11. Rated 5 out of 5

    Monkey Mom

    Monkey Mom
    5.0 out of 5 stars
    Sweet Book
    December 7, 2016
    Format: Hardcover
    This is a fun book to read to kiddos. It tells the story of a little girl who fears gathering eggs from the chickens on her grandmother’s farm. Will the chickens peck her with their beaks, or worst yet all gang up on her and peck her to death. How will she ever get up the courage to gather the eggs from under the hens. Can she get past their clucking, piercing eyes, and uncertainty. She gets a brilliant idea from the spider in the corner of the barn. She knows she cannot go back into her grandmothers house without the basket of eggs. How will she ultimately accomplish this fear producing chore?

  12. Rated 5 out of 5

    Texaslass

    Texaslass
    5.0 out of 5 stars
    A Delightful Chicken-Hearted Tale
    December 12, 2016
    Format: Hardcover
    This author and illustrator duo have created another heartwarming tale! WHICH CAME FIRST? is a story of a childhood fear overcome. Grandma wanted the little girl to gather eggs, but the child was afraid of the chickens. Her various ploys to delay, and then to conquer, are truly entertaining. But the chickens almost steal the show! I was captivated by their strutting through the pages. And each page is full of delightful details in the narrative and in the illustrations. This book will wear well for many readings.

Add a review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *